Tom Brady Officially Signs With Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Wild Card Round - Tennessee Titans v New England Patriots

Get used to saying it: Tom Brady is a Tampa Bay Buccaneer now.

After 20 historic seasons of playing with the New England Patriots, Brady waded into the waters of the free agent market this week and came out with a multi-year deal with the Bucs, the team announced on Friday.

The 42-year-old quarterback signed his contract with Tampa Bay on Friday, a few days after announcing his decision to leave the Patriots on March 17.

"Excited, humble and hungry -- if there is one thing I have learned about football, it’s that nobody cares what you did last year or the year before that … you earn the trust and respect of those around through your commitment every single day," Brady said in a post on Instagram. "I’m starting a new football journey and thankful for the Buccaneers for giving me an opportunity to do what I love to do."

"I look forward to meeting all my new teammates and coaches and proving to them that they can believe and trust in me...I have always believed that well done is better than well said, so I’m not gonna say much more - I’m just gonna get to work! #Year1," Brady added.

Buccaneers General Manager Jason Licht touted Brady's unrivaled success on the field in a statement about the team signing the former Patriots legend.

"Tom is a proven champion who has achieved greatness on the field because he demands the best out of himself and his teammates," said Licht. "I've known Tom since we drafted him in New England 20 years ago and through this process it became very clear that his desire to be a champion burns as strong today as it ever has. He possesses the type of rare natural leadership qualities that will immediately impact our entire organization."

The NFL Network's Ian Rapoport cited sources that Brady's new contract was worth about $30 million per year.

During his time with the Patriots, Brady played in a record nine Super Bowls, coming away with a win in six of them and won a record four Super Bowl MVP awards. He's also been awarded NFL MVP three times (2007, 2010, 2017) and has often been referred to as the greatest quarterback of all time.

Photo: Getty Images

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content