Showtime: Thursday, July 5

posted by WOOD Radio News -

Your daily declaration of live entertainment and music performances in West Michigan for Thursday, July 5, 2018.

WOOD Radio’s current entertainment calendar

Compiled from published schedules, advertisements and websites maintained by venues and presenters. Live performances are subject to schedule changes and cancellations, so check webpage or venue box office for latest updates. Most websites can sell you tickets, but there’s usually a service fee on top of the admission price. If information on your ticket differs from what you see here, I’d go with the ticket.

VAN ANDEL ARENA    130 West Fulton St., 616-742-6600

  • Kesha, Friday, July 6, 7 p.m.
  • Daryl Hall & John Oates and Train, Sunday, July 15, 7 pm.
  • Shania Twain, Wednesday, July 18, 7:30 p.m.
  • Kevin Hart, Sunday, July 22, 7 p.m.
  • Ice Cube, with N.W.A., Ice T, The Dogg Pound and AMG, Saturday, July 28, 8 p.m.
  • Slayer, with Lamb of God, Anthrax, Testament and Napalm Death, Tuesday, August 7, 5 p.m.
  • Sugarland, with Frankie Ballard and Lindsay Ell, Friday, August 10, 7 p.m.
  • Fall Out Boy, with Machine Gun Kelly, Thursday, September 6, 7 p.m.
  • Thomas Rhett, Saturday, October 6.
  • Elton John, Monday, October 15, 8 p.m.
  • Keith Urban, with Kelsea Ballerini, Friday, October 19, 7:30 p.m.
  • Lynyrd Skynyrd, with Jamey Johnson, Friday, November 9, 7 p.m.
  • Panic! At The Disco, with Two Feet, Tuesday, January 29, 2019, 7 p.m.
  • Metallica, Wednesday, March 13, 7:30 p.m.

20 MONROE LIVE    11 Ottawa Ave. NW, or 20 Monroe Ave. NW, 844-678-5483 (LIVE)

  • Janelle Monáe, with St. Beauty, Saturday, July 7, 6:30 p.m.
  • The Pretenders, with The Rails, Wednesday, July 11, 6:30 p.m.
  • Our Lady Peace, with Cleopatrick, Friday, July 13, 7 p.m.
  • Appetite for Destruction, Guns N’ Roses tribute, Saturday, July 14, 7 p.m.
  • Black Label Society, with Corrosion of Conformity, honoring tickets from postponed January show, Wednesday, July 18, 6:30 p.m.
  • Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Bluegrass Band, Thursday, July 19, 7 p.m.
  • Ferg, with IDK, Friday, July 20, 7 p.m.
  • Singles Mingle with 1045 WSNX, with DJ Choff, Saturday, July 21, 8 p.m.
  • Erasure, with Reed & Caroline, Wednesday, July 25, 7 p.m.
  • Caribbean Summer Jam III, with Erica Mena and Christian Keyes, Saturday, July 28, 9 p.m.
  • Prism Pride Party, with Brittany Spears tribute Derrick Barry, Melissa Millionaire, Dia Elektra, Gemma Stone and Jasinya Sanchez, Saturday, August 4, 8:30 p.m.
  • Pusha T, with Valee and Sheck Wes, Tuesday, August 7, 7 p.m.
  • Jonny Lang, Friday, August 10, 7 p.m.
  • Daughtry, Tuesday, August 14, 6:30 p.m.
  • Rob Bell, with Peter Rollins, Friday, August 24, 7:20 p.m.
  • Chuponcito, Sunday, September 9, 6 p.m.
  • Gary Clark Jr., Monday, September 10, 7 p.m.
  • Mastodon, with Dinosaur Jr. and Netherlands, Saturday, September 15, 6:30 p.m.
  • Queen Extravaganza, Queen tribute, Sunday, September 16, 7 p.m.
  • Ben Rector, with Camino, Friday, September 21, 7 p.m.
  • MC50, Saturday, September 22, 8 p.m.
  • Bullet For My Valentine, Sunday, September 30, 6:30 p.m.

THE INTERSECTION    133 Grandville Ave. SW, 616-723-8571

  • Ballyhoo! with Bumpin Uglies and Tropidelic, in The Stache, Friday, July 6, 7 p.m.
  • The Diamond Experience, with Whitney Stylez, Ice Guru Brothers, DJ Brock, Nellynell and DJ Omega Supreme, in Elevation, Saturday, July 7, 10 p.m.
  • Silent Planet, with My Epic, Comrades and Heartsick, in The Stache, Sunday, July 8, 6:30 p.m.
  • Lauren Duski, presented by B93, in The Stache, Thursday, July 12, 6:30 p.m.
  • Hollow Front, with Amoura, Whitelake, Assume Nothing and Silence & Solace, Friday, July 13, in The Stache, 6 p.m.
  • Gwar, with Light The Torch and Against The Grain, Sunday, July 13, 6:30 p.m.
  • PhaseOne, with Stabby, Dogma and Babz, in Elevation, Friday, July 13, 8 p.m.
  • Red Jumpsuit Apparatus, with Rivals, Red Legs and Another October, in The Stache, Saturday, July 14, 7 p.m.
  • Phinehas, with Earth Groans, Of All We Cherish and Foxhollow, in The Stache, Sunday, July 15, 6 p.m.
  • Attila, with Suicide Silence, Volumes, Rings Of Saturn, Spite and Cross Your Fingers, Tuesday, July 24, 6 p.m.
  • Between The Buried And Me, with Born Of Osiris, Veil Of Maya, Erra, The Agony Scene Allegaeon and Terror Universal, Wednesday, July 25, 2 p.m.
  • Rayland Baxter, with Okey Dokey, in The Stache, Friday, July 27, 7 p.m.
  • eRoy, with Pause, Super Future, Sandose, Gyp$y and Saylin, in The Mint, Friday, July 27, 8 p.m.
  • The Struts, with Badflower, in Elevation, Saturday, July 28, 7:30 p.m.
  • The Sword, with Ume, in Elevation, Tuesday, July 31, 8 p.m.
  • Yelawolf, with Jelly Roll & Struggle Jennings, Friday, August 3, 7 p.m.

THE PYRAMID SCHEME    68 Commerce Ave. SW, 616-272-3758

  • Grand Rapids Soul Club, with Bamboozle, Friday, July 13, 9:30 p.m.
  • Bars of Gold, with Bong Mountain and Reggie, Saturday, July 14, 9 p.m.
  • Vagabon, Sunday, July 15, 7 p.m.
  • The Messthetics, with Joe Lally, Brendan Canty and Anthony Pirog, Monday, July 16, 9 p.m.
  • Japanese Breakfast, with Mothers, Thursday, July 19, 7 p.m.
  • Local Showcase #25, with Mose Alto, Secret Forte, Jemmi Hazeman & The Honey Riders and LaCroix, Friday, July 20, 8:30 p.m.
  • All Is Well, with If Only If Only, Iris and the Amber Tide, Saturday, July 21, 7 p.m.
  • L7, Monday, July 23, 7 p.m.
  • Farm Block Fest Showcase #1, with Samantha Crain, Molly and Turtledoves, Tuesday, July 24, 9 p.m.
  • Farm Block Fest Showcase #2, with Last Gasp Collective, Rick Chyme, After Ours and Major Murphy, Wednesday, July 25, 9 p.m.
  • Snail Mail, with Long Beard and Jes Kramer, Friday, July 27, 7 p.m.
  • Joywave, with Grandson, Tuesday, July 31, 7 p.m.
  • Save Face, with Prince Daddy & The Hyena, Tim. and EyeCandy, Wednesday, August 1, 7 p.m.
  • Melvins, with Jon Spencer, Thursday, August 2, 7 p.m.

THE DELTAPLEX   2500 Turner Ave. NW, 616-364-9000

  • Bronco, with Guardians del Amor de Arturo Rodriguez and Los Camindantes, Saturday, August 4, 8:30 p.m.
  • Old Dominion, with Michael Ray and High Valley, Saturday, December 8, 7:30 p.m.

SEVEN STEPS UP   116 South Jackson St., Spring Lake, 616-678-3618

  • Mary Fahl, Sunday, July 8, 7 p.m.
  • Howie Day, with Nick Barilla, Tuesday, July 17, 7:30 p.m.
  • The Cerny Brothers, Thursday, July 19, 7:30 p.m.
  • Parsonsfield, Saturday, July 21, 8:30 p.m.
  • The Insiders, Tom Petty tribute, Saturday, July 28, 8:30 p.m.
  • Pat McGee, Thursday, August 2, 7:30 p.m.
  • Trina Hamlin, Tuesday, August 7, 7:30 p.m.
  • The Harmaleighs, Sunday, August 12, 7 p.m.
  • We Banjo 3, Wednesday, August 22, 7:30 p.m.

FREDERIK MEIJER GARDENS   1000 East Beltline Ave. NE, 888-957-1580

  • Michael Franti & Spearhead, with Hirie, Sunday, July 8, sold out.
  • Patti LaBelle, Friday, July 13, 7 p.m.
  • The Temptations and The Four Tops, Sunday, July 15, sold out.
  • Joe Jackson, Friday, July 20, 7 p.m.
  • Dispatch, Monday, July 23, sold out.
  • Jason Mraz, Wednesday, July 25, sold out.
  • The Beach Boys, Thursday, July 26, sold out.
  • Air Supply, Sunday, July 29, 7 p.m.
  • Styx, Wednesday, August 1, sold out.
  • Vince Gill, Monday, August 6, sold out.
  • The Taj Mahal and Keb’ Mo’ Band, Sunday, August 12, sold out.
  • Toad The Wet Sprocket and The Verve Pipe, Sunday, August 19, sold out.
  • Trombone Shorty’s Voodoo Threauxdown, Wednesday, August 22, sold out.
  • Alabama, Thursday, August 23, 7 p.m.
  • Toto, Friday, August 24, sold out.
  • O.A.R., with Matt Nathanson, Sunday, August 26, sold out.
  • Lyle Lovett And His Large Band, Monday, August 27, 7 p.m.
  • Lake Street Dive, Thursday, August 30, sold out.
  • Live, Monday, September 3, 7 p.m.

FRAUENTHAL CENTER   425 West Western Ave. Suite 200, Muskegon, 231-722-9750

  • Art Garfunkel, Saturday, September 29, 7:30 p.m.
  • Dr. Alveda King, “Redeeming the Dream,” Thursday, October 4, 7 p.m.
  • House of Hamill, with Channing and Quinn, Friday,  October 12, 7 p.m.
  • Bobby Bones Red Hoodie Comedy Tour, Friday, November 16, 8 p.m.

DEVOS PERFORMANCE HALL   303 Monroe Ave. NW, 616-742-6500

  • Johnny Mathis, Wednesday, July 18, 7:30 p.m.
  • Jerry Seinfeld, Thursday, July 19, 7 p.m.
  • The Gaither Vocal Band, Friday, July 20, 7 p.m.
  • Yanni, Tuesday, July 24, 7:30 p.m.
  • Lindsey Stirling, Monday, August 6, 8 p.m.
  • David Byrne, Wednesday, August 8, 8 p.m.
  • Diana Krall, Wednesday, October 17, 7:30 p.m.
  • The Drifters, Cornell Gunter's Coasters and The Platters, Sunday, October 28, 5 p.m.
  • Alice Cooper, Monday, October 29, 8 p.m.
  • Disney Junior Dance Party On Tour, Wednesday, November 7, 6 p.m.
  • Brian Wilson, with Al Jardine and Blondie Chaplin, Tuesday, November 20, 8 p.m.
  • Straight No Chaser, Tuesday, December 4, 7:30 p.m.

Classical, eclectical

GRAND RAPIDS SYMPHONY   300 Ottawa Ave. NW Suite 100, 616-454-9451

  • “Classical Fireworks,” Tchaikovsky’s “1812 Overture,” inspiring and patriotic classics, fireworks and three (count ’em, three!) conductors, at Cannonsburg Ski Area, Thursday and Friday, July 12 and 13, 8 p.m.
  • “Love Is in the Air,” Mozart, Tchaikovsky, Strauss Jr. and Sousa, in Edith Blodgett Recital Hall at Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp, Saturday, July 14, 8 p.m.
  • “80s Rewind!” GR Pops conducted by Bob Bernhardt at Cannonsburg Ski Area, Thursday and Friday, July 19 and 20, 7:30 p.m.
  • Free concert at John Ball Park, Dvořák, and music from “The Pink Panther” and “Jurassic Park,” tickets required for admission, Saturday, July 21, 7 p.m.
  • “Beethoven v. Coldplay,” GR Pops conducted by Steven Hackman of Coldplay, with Kathy LaMar and Bob VanStee, at Cannonsburg Ski Area, Thursday and Friday, July 26 and 27, 7:30 p.m.
  • Tito Puente Jr., GR Pops conducted by John Varineau, at Cannonsburg Ski Area, Thursday, August 2, 7:30 p.m.
  • Ben Folds, GR Pops conducted by Jacomo Bairos, Cannonsburg Ski Area, Friday, August 3, 7:30 p.m.
  • “Beethoven’s Seventh,” and works by Bernstein and Barber, Friday and Saturday, September 14 and 15, 8 p.m.
  • “Pizzarelli Plays the Music of Sir Paul McCartney,” Friday and Saturday, September 21 and 22, at 8 p.m., and Sunday at 3 p.m.

ST. CECILIA MUSIC CENTER    24 Ransom Ave. NE, 616-459-2224

  • Arturo Sandoval, Thursday, October 11, 7:30 p.m.
  • Kenny Barron Quintet, Thursday, November 1, 7:30 p.m.
  • Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, The Trout Quintet, Thursday, November 15, 7:30 p.m.
  • The Lone Bellow, Thursday, November 29, 7:30 p.m.
  • Joey DeFrancesco, Thursday, February 7, 2019, 7:30 p.m.
  • Benny Green Trio and Veronica Swift, Thursday, March 7, 7:30 p.m.
  • Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, “Russian Mastery,” Thursday, March 14, 7:30 p.m.
  • Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, “From Mendelssohn,” Thursday, April 25, 7:30 p.m.

WEST MICHIGAN SYMPHONY    Frauenthal Theater, 425 West Western Ave., Muskegon, 231-726-3231

  • “Masterworks 1,” Bernstein, Strauss, Berlioz and Respighi, Friday, September 28, 7:30 p.m.
  • “Sheherazade Showcase,” Puts, Vaughan Williams and Rimsky-Korsakov, Friday, November 2, 7:30 p.m.
  • “Home for the Holidays,” seasonal classics and carols with the Reeths-Puffer choir and the symphony’s Children’s Choir, Friday, December 14, 7:30 p.m.
  • “Choral Fantasy,” Vivaldi, Mozart and Beethoven, Friday, February 1, 7:30 p.m.
  • “Classic Broadway,” with Lisa Vroman and Doug LaBrecque, Friday, March 15, 7:30 p.m.

Live theatre, community theatre

PIGEON CREEK SHAKESPEARE COMPANY   823 Slayton Ave., Grand Haven, 616-850-0916

  • “Antony and Cleopatra,” Dog Story Theater August 10 to 12 and 17 to 19, Seven Steps Up September 7, Jenison Center September 15.
  • “Henry V,” The Rose August 25.
  • “As You Like It,” Ramsdell Theater October 18 to 19, Seven Steps Up October 26, Jenison Center October 27, The Sauk November 2, Dog Story Theater November 9 to 11 and 16 to 19.

CIRCLE THEATRE   1730 Robinson Rd. SE, 616-456-6656

  • “Fun Home,” July 12 to 28.
  • “Leading Ladies,” August 9 to 25.
  • “On the Town,” September 6 to 22.

HOLLAND CIVIC THEATRE   50 West 9th St., Holland, 616-396-2021

  • “Stuart Little,” July 12 to 21.
  • “The Curious Savage,” August 9 to 18.

GRAND RAPIDS CIVIC THEATRE   30 North Division Ave., 616-222-6650

  • “School of Rock,” July 27 to August 4.
  • “Little Women,” July 28 to August 5.
  • “Steel Magnolias,” September 7 to 23.
  • “Number the Stars,” October 12 to 21.
  • “The Little Mermaid,” November 16 to December 16.
  • “And Then There Were None,” January 11 to 27, 2019.
  • “My Fair Lady,” February 23 to March 18.
  • “James and the Giant Peach,” April 26 to May 5.
  • “Newsies,” May 31 to June 23.
  • “All Shook Up,”  July 26 to August 4.
  • “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland,” July 27 to August 3.

ACTORS’ THEATRE    160 Fountain St. NE, 616-234-3817

  • “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time,” September 13 to 23.
  • “At the Table,” November 8 to 17.
  • “Burnt Part Boys,” January 31, 2019, to February 3.
  • “The Wolves,” April 18 to 27.
  • “Sweat,” May 16 to 25.

MUSKEGON CIVIC THEATRE   425 West Western Ave. Suite 401, Muskegon, 231-722-3852

  • “Disenchanted,” September 14 to 29.
  • “Becky’s New Car,” November 16 to December 2.
  • “The Old Settler,” January 18 to 26, 2019.
  • “The Women of Lockerbie,” February 15 to March 2.
  • “Shrek The Musical,” May 2 to 5.

BROADWAY GRAND RAPIDS   122 Lyon St. NW, 515-235-6285

  • “Finding Neverland,” October 9 to 14.
  • “Jersey Boys,” November 30 to December 2.
  • “School of Rock,” January 8 to 13.
  • “On Your Feet!” February 19 to 24.
  • “The Book of Mormon,” March 19 to 24.
  • “Waitress,” April 30 to May 5.
  • “Anastasia,” June 25 to 30.

Comments

title

Content Goes Here

This ad will close in X seconds.