Grand Rapids Sports Hall of Fame names 2018 class

GRAND RAPIDS, Mich. (WOOD) — The Grand Rapids Sports Hall of Fame has announced its inductees for 2018.

The class includes:

  • Former Ottawa Hills High School standout linebacker David Harris, who went on to win two Big Ten titles and appear in the Rose Bowl while playing at Michigan. He then spent 10 years in the NFL, ending his career last year with a Super Bowl appearance with the New England Patriots.
  • Former Tri-Unity Christian High School basketball player Chris Kaman. Playing with Central Michigan University, he was a MAC player of the year. He was drafted to the NBA in 2003 and retired after 13 years.
  • Longtime Grand Rapids Community College basketball coach Gene Paxton. In 25 years, he racked up more than 500 wins and five league championships. He's also a member of the Basketball Coaches Association of Michigan Hall of Fame.
  • Former Michigan State University women's golf coach Stay Slobodnik-Stoll. She led the Spartans to seven Big Ten championships. She also has the most wins of any amateur golfer in the Golf Association of Michigan, including two Michigan Women's Amateur titles and nine GAM Women's Mid-Amateur titles.

The 2018 Warren Reynolds Lifetime Achievement Award will go to Jim Haskins. He's the commissioner of the O-K Conference, retiring next year after 48 years in local athletics. He's also a former Rockford schools principal and coached city league basketball teams.  

Carl Paganelli Sr., Carl Pagenelli Jr., Perry Paganelli and Dino Paganelli are being named the Outstanding Team Honorees. The father and three sons are all football officials. All three sons have officiated Super Bowls.

The date of the induction ceremony and ticket information will be released soon.

More from

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content